One Direction This is us Movie Review

Although I don’t consider myself as a typical fangirl I can’t deny the excitement of hearing One Direction were releasing a movie. I first found out when I saw the music video to their latest single Best Song Ever; and I have no doubt this song will be on replay next time me and my friends get together. The music video incorporates some footage from the movie at the end which generally shows the boys chilling out and having fun. Something all teenagers do.
This Is Us is definitely a light hearted, feel good film. Me and the friend I watched it with even had a friendly joust of banter with the guy who sold us the tickets. We heard him joking around with his colleagues saying ear plugs were being handed out for mums who came in with their screaming daughters and as 19 year old girls you don’t always want to be caught fangirling so we told him to keep our appearances on the down low. I asked him if he himself liked the band and his response was to do a very bad impression, mimicking the boys performing What Makes You Beautiful, but I caught him out with my sharp witty response “Hey, but you know all the words so you can’t hate them that much!”.
For a Friday night I was surprised at how little of an audience there was but this shows for nothing as the film collected approximately $17 million over the opening weekend. I don’t want to ruin the movie for you if you haven’t already seen it but within the first couple minutes of just introducing the boys on camera they got a laugh from the audience. This film was very good at showing the boys relationships with one another, their journey from their very first X Factor auditions which again we were able to get a good laugh out of because now they just seem so cringey! But it was also good for showing their fans appreciation that they are not always able to show because of busy schedules to of course record their album and do a world tour. If anything I would say that it did not portray the complete boy band package, you know; sex, drugs and rock and roll but it’s completely understandable since a lot of their fans and therefore the target audience for this film are in the young teen age group.
One of the greatest parts of the film was when the focus shifted away from the boys believe it or not and onto their families. I learnt that these boys literally had no chance to say farewell before being whisked away to start new lives as popstars, the film shows them returning home to their families after years of being apart since the start of their X Factor journeys. Both mums and dads express not only how incredibly proud they are of their boys but also how difficult it was to miss the years that define a boy growing up into a young man, years they will never be able to get back. What’s a good film without being a tear jerker eh?!
This Is Us plays it quite safe in my opinion but I thoroughly enjoyed every second of it and did not want it to end. I had a good sing song in the movie theatre though admittedly I didn’t know every song they performed off of their album (told you I wasn’t a fangirl). I don’t see this as a film for everyone’s taste but would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good laugh and likes One Direction. Simple as that.

Leave a comment